Related Gear

Gear Reviews

Garmin GPS 60

£139.00

LFTO rating rating is 3
Owners' rating rating is 4

This GPS from Garmin is very easy to use from the box, with a large clear screen and really simple functions, such as “Mark and Find”. A great selection of pages and it’s easy to switch between them, or even change the order, if necessary. Inputting routes or waypoints by hand is a slow process, but can be done quickly and easily via a PC. Slow to get a satellite position and faster than most to lose its reception under tree cover, or in narrow gorges. It is also quite a size to carry, and heavy, too. In its favour, its “Highway” page is really easy to follow and the large screen makes navigation or following a bearing an absolute doddle.

Verdict: An easy-to-use, functional unit with very good PC compatibility at a nice price. However, it doesn’t hold its signal as well as some and is also quite heavy.

Size: 15.5x6.1x3.3cm

Weight: 215g

Screen: 3.8x5.6cm FSTN, 160x240 pixels

Battery life: 28 hours on two AAs

Works with: Most software. WAAS/EGNOS-enabled

Routes/waypoints: 50 routes/500 waypoints

Contact: 0870 850 1242; www.garmin.co.uk

User's Reviews

  • Garmin GPS 60 Brilliant piece of equipment.

    andy youart

    reward badge

    SWADLINCOTE, UK

    User's Overall Rating rating is 4.5

    Show Details

    Performancerating is 4
    Build qualityrating is 5
    Value for moneyrating is 5

    Just received mine and i cannot fault it. Did the Kinder Round with a twist didn't lose signal until next to dirty great rock overhanging me. Great for low cost reassurance should hopefully help reducing mountain rescue callouts to lost people if more people used them.

    (Written by: andyyouart)

    24 September 2009 21:25

  • The most overlooked GPS

    moggy

    reward badge

    User's Overall Rating rating is 5

    Show Details

    Performancerating is 5
    Build qualityrating is 5
    Value for moneyrating is 5

    Ive had my Garmin GPS60 for a few years now and i never go out without it. The first thing that strikes you (apart from the colour) is the external aerial, this helps it pick up the satellites when some of the other GPS' struggle, its never let me down finding a fix and is usually accurate to within 3 feet. The unit isn't the smallest around but its light and the buttons are a good size so that you can use them with gloves on in the winter. It has plenty of options and functions but i tend to use it for tracking distance, speed and time then uploading it to my pc when i return. uploading and downloading routes to and from the unit is really easy as it comes with the cables and basic software but really comes into its own when paired up with something like tracklogs software. i suggest you buy some decent rechargeable batteries as even though the battery life is great, normal AA batteries suffer in cold temperatures so run flat quicker. i can definatley vouch for its robustness, ive dropped it, soaked it, kicked it and clattered it into rocks and there isn't a scratch on it big thumbs up to garmin!

    (Written by: moggy)

    09 March 2009 22:35

  • Robust and easy to use!

    mountainmachine

    reward badge

    Glasgow, UK

    User's Overall Rating rating is 4

    Show Details

    Performancerating is 3
    Build qualityrating is 5
    Value for moneyrating is 4

    Got 10 of these for work, or were given 10 by a nice person. After 6 months of light use by young people and instructors; 1)All are still working 2)None are damaged or scratched 3)None have gone walkies Why? Robust, easy to use, waterproof, big bricks! Young people cope no bother with them, even my fellow instructors manage to use them with a bit of tuition. Connect easily to pc and memory map software. Reliable, were used on an BSES expedition by an instructor to survey a glacier. Coped well with temp etc. Well priced! Not an all singing all dancing model, but does what it says on the tin. I've not had major problems with loosing signal.

    (Written by: mountainmachine)

    11 January 2009 23:30

  • GPS60

    Mountaineer204

    reward badge

    gb

    User's Overall Rating rating is 4

    Show Details

    Performancerating is 4
    Build qualityrating is 4
    Value for moneyrating is 4

    I use mine for emergancys when i get slightly misplaced or when in winter the weather comes in. Slightly wish I had paid a bit more so that I could have got the GPSMap 60 which can be adapted with Garmin Topo but for the price and current needs it is a good piece of kit.

    (Written by: Mountaineer204)

    08 September 2008 08:51

  • A great low cost gps

    cozy

    reward badge

    User's Overall Rating rating is 5

    Show Details

    Performancerating is 5
    Build qualityrating is 5
    Value for moneyrating is 5

    I've owned my gps 60 for about two years and like others brought it to use along with a map. Only realy brought it for the just in case moments. The battery life is good, about 20 hours. Easy to use and makes an excellent glorified pedometer. like others have said it looses signal in woodland but apart from that if want cheap and reliable this is the gps for you.

    (Written by: cozy)

    02 May 2008 14:59

  • Great for begginers

    jamie dunn

    reward badge

    wrexham, UK

    User's Overall Rating rating is 3

    Show Details

    Performancerating is 3
    Build qualityrating is 4
    Value for moneyrating is 3

    I bought my GPS 60 about a year and a half ago and it is still going well i found it easy to use right from the start (from a person who finds instruction manuals sooo boring) The big screen is a plus as it a can display more information, It is realiable in the open but looses signal in wooded areas also the batteries only last around 2 long walks. its rugged and has clear marked buttons. Works realy well with memory map i have the national parks 1:50,000 scale for £30 its a great combination for begginers.

    (Written by: socrates)

    27 April 2008 23:44

  • GPS60 - A welcome addition to my walks

    rosie_glitterzone

    User's Overall Rating rating is 4

    Show Details

    Performancerating is 4
    Build qualityrating is 4
    Value for moneyrating is 4

    I bought a GPS 60 about a year ago, before Garmin introduced the new higher sensitivity models, and chose it because at the time it offered better reception than the likes of the etrex, venture or similar models. It has lost reception a few times in tree cover, but as my walks don’t tend to be too challenging this hasn’t been a problem. I didn’t want a GPS instead of OS maps and so decided to go for a basic model and put the rest of the budget towards 1:50000 digital mapping to aid the creating and downloading of routes. I use the track feature to log each walk and when I have taken a detour from the route (intentionally or unintentionally) I find it helpful to download the track to Memory Map and see the differences between the planned and actual route. I’ve used it a couple of times to get us back on route and it is very useful to answer the question of “Are we nearly there yet?”. Best bits – good battery life; easy to use menus/buttons; USB cable included Worst bits – a bit on the large size; bright yellow case good when looking for it in your rucksack, bad for when it’s clipped to your rucksack strap.

    (Written by: rosie_glitterzone)

    29 February 2008 14:38

  • GPS 60

    dgreenslad001

    reward badge

    UK

    User's Overall Rating rating is 4

    Show Details

    Performancerating is 4
    Build qualityrating is 5
    Value for moneyrating is 4

    I have had my GPS 60 for two years now and can thoroughly recommend it. It is extremely easy to use and hard wearing. Also, given its size it is easy to use with gloves on. Initially I thought I would regret not getting a colour unit. However as you use this alongside a map it does not matter and certainly saves cost. Overall a great unit for the cost.

    (Written by: dgreenslad001)

    10 February 2008 19:46

Page

Ask an expert

Need advice? Got a question about gear? Put it to our community of staff and users.